Wordsworth’s monumental poetic legacy rests on a large number of important poems, varying in length and weight from the short, simple lyrics of the 1790 s to the vast expanses of The Prelude, thirteen books long in its 1808 edition. Following the success of Lyrical Ballads and his subsequent poem The Prelude, a massive autobiography in verse form, Wordsworth moved to the stately house at Rydal Mount where he lived, with Dorothy, his wife Mary, and his children, until his death in 1850. In the year 1798, William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge jointly Published a Slim anthology of poems named "The lyrical Ballads " This work became a landmark in English poetry because it ushered in a new era by declaring an open revolt against the Neo-classical style of poetry. Wordsworth relates that his principal goal in writing the poems in the Lyrical Ballads was to portray common life in an interesting and honest way, and to appeal to readers’ emotions by generating “a state of excitement.” He chose to depict common life because in that situation, people are generally more self-aware and more honest.

In the Preface to Lyrical Ballads, Wordsworth outlines his definition of the nature and function of poetry—as well as identifying the qualities that make someone a true poet. Lyrical Ballads Summary SuperSummary, a modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, offers high-quality study guides that feature detailed chapter summaries and analysis of major themes, characters, quotes, and essay topics. Lyrical Ballads is a collection of poems written by William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge. For Wordsworth, poetry must reflect spontaneity and an “overflow of powerful feelings.” Passion is key, as are mood and temperament. This one-page guide includes a plot summary and brief analysis of Lyrical Ballads by William Wordsworth. Lyrical Ballads is a collection of poetry by William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge that was originally published in 1798.